Many states will soon be revising key payroll tax figures and procedures. Here are some of the highlights:
Effective July 20, 2011, employers may pay employees by either direct deposit or paycard, rather than by paper check, if certain requirements are met.
A 0.2% advance interest tax will be added to all employers' unemployment tax rates (except reimbursing employers), beginning with the second quarter return filed in July. The tax will help Arkansas pay the interest due on its federal unemployment insurance loans.
The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment will be sending a bill to employers called “Unemployment Insurance Notice of Trust Fund Assessment” in early July to help the State pay the interest due on its outstanding federal unemployment insurance loans.
The Florida minimum wage rate recently increased from $7.25 to $7.31 per hour.
Effective July 1, 2011, professional employer organizations (PEOs) must register with the Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations before entering into a PEO agreement with a client company in Hawaii.
Effective July 1, 2011, a PEO that fails to submit a separate quarterly wage report for each of its clients will be subject to a $100 penalty for each client that it fails to separately report. The maximum penalty in any quarter may not exceed $5,000.
Effective for the tax year beginning on July 1, 2011, any employee making less than $4,300 per calendar quarter should not be included in the taxable employee counts for purposes of the $4 monthly Chicago employer's expense tax. Effective July 1, 2011, employers are required to make payments for the tax on or before the 15th day following the end of the quarterly tax period. Previously, the payments were due on or before the last day of the month following the end of the quarterly tax period [Chicago Department of Revenue Tax Alert, 11/17/10].
The unclaimed property report must be filed by July 1, 2011, for the period beginning July 1, 2010, and ending on March 31, 2011.
Beginning July 1, 2011, all private employers must use the federal E-Verify system to verify the employment eligibility of new hires.
Employers will pay an additional assessment with their second quarter unemployment tax return to help Missouri pay the interest due on its federal unemployment insurance loans.
Effective July 1, 2011, employers who made over $16,000 in withholding tax payments in a previous tax year must make all withholding tax payments by EFT.
Effective July 1, 2011, the Ada Village (Hardin County) tax rate will increase from 1.15% to 1.65%; the Tipp City (Miami County) tax rate will increase from 1.25% to 1.5%; and the Franklin City (Warren County) tax rate will increase from 1.5% to 2.0%.
Utah's Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) is replacing WebExpress as a means to file, pay, and manage withholding taxes. Employers must register in the TAP system on or after June 27 to prevent filing and payment delays [STC Announcement, Taxpayer Access Point (TAP) is Replacing WebExpress, 5/5/11].
Effective July 1, 2011, semi-weekly filers are required to file all withholding tax returns and make payments electronically [L. 2010, H1500 (c. 890)].
Beginning July 1, 2011, a 1% occupation tax must be withheld from all persons working in the City of Huntington. The occupation tax replaces the city service fee of $3.00 per week.